Thursday, March 11, 2010

New Who!

The BAFTA-winning series, Doctor Who, begins its new season -- with a new Dr. Who on April 17, 2010, on BBC AMERICA. Matt Smith debuts as the new, Eleventh incarnation of the famous Time Lord alongside a new travelling companion, the enigmatic Amy Pond (Karen Gillan).

BAFTA-winning writer Steven Moffat (Steven Spielberg's upcoming Tintin, Jekyll, Coupling), takes over as lead writer and executive producer. Writers for the new reboot series include Richard Curtis (The Boat that Rocked, Love Actually), Chris Chibnall (Law & Order UK, Torchwood), Toby Whithouse (Being Human, Torchwood), Mark Gatiss (The League of Gentlemen, Sherlock) and Simon Nye (Men Behaving Badly, Hardware). Guest stars include Alex Kingston (ER, Flash Forward), BAFTA-winner James Corden (Gavin & Stacey, The History Boys), Oscar nominee Sophie Okonedo (The Secret Life of Bees, Hotel Rwanda), and Tony Curran (24).

Doctor Who follows the adventures of The Doctor, the mysterious traveler who, with his human companions, journeys throughout all of time and space, facing a variety of foes and righting wrongs. The new series has the Doctor and Amy Pond together exploring sixteenth century Venice, France during the 1890s and the United Kingdom in the far future, now an entire nation floating in space.

Doctor Who premieres Saturday, April 17, 2010 9 p.m. ET/PT. Doctor Who premiere episode is an extended version with limited commercial interruption.

A journey into the Doctor Who universe with BBC America’s original program, Doctor Who: Who is the Doctor? The program is an original look inside the universe of the world’s biggest, most successful sci-fi television program.

Doctor Who: Who Is The Doctor premieres Saturday, April 17, 2010 8 p.m. ET/PT