Tuesday, June 28, 2005

The Dandy Warhols

Dandy Warhols' Latest

(New York, NY) - The Dandy Warhols will release their fifth album, Odditorium or Warlords of Mars, on September 13, 2005.

Named (at least partially) after the band's infamous Portland studio headquarters, Odditorium or Warlords of Mars finds the band venturing beyond the synthesized pop of 2003's Welcome to the Monkey House into new musical terrain, while frequently revisiting the stripped-down sound of their earlier years.

The album was produced by frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor with longtime band collaborator Gregg Williams and mixed by Tchad Blake (Elvis Costello, Latin Playboys, the Bad Plus) and Taylor-Taylor.

Opening with a tongue-in-cheek introduction from A&E host Bill Kurtis, the album is full of the band's trademark mix of rock hooks and sonic experimentalism, spanning turned-on drone rock, country blues, electronic pop and deep psychedelia.

Lead single "Smoke It’s” video features the band performing the song in the Odditorium for 40 visibly impressed dogs.

The Dandy Warhols only live performance of the summer will be at Lollapalooza, to be held in Chicago's Grant Park on July 23 and 24, 2005. A North American fall tour will be announced shortly, along with an acoustic "Suitcase Tour" in which the band will play using everything they can fit into a single suitcase (besides acoustic guitars).

The Dandy Warhols can be also be seen as co-stars of Ondi Timoner's documentary film Dig!, winner of the Grand Jury Prize Documentary at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival. The film, narrated by Taylor-Taylor, chronicles the uniquely dysfunctional relationship between the Dandies and their unpredictable friends the Brian Jonestown Massacre.

The Dandy Warhols, Odditorium Or Warlords Of Mars

1. Colder Than The Coldest Winter Was Cold
2. Love Is The New Feel Awful
3. Easy
4. All The Money or The Simple Life Honey
5. The New Country
6. Holding Me Up
7. Did You Make A Song With Otis
8. Everyone Is Totally Insane
9. Smoke It
10. Down Like Disco
11. There Is Only This Time
12. A Loan Tonight

The Dandy Warhols are:
Courtney Taylor-Taylor - vocals, guitars, keyboards, percussion
Peter Holstrom - guitars, bells
Zia McCabe - keyboards, bass, percussion, harmonica, vocals
Brent DeBoer - drums, bass, vocals

Posted by Hello